Short and sweet!

Short and sweet is what this blog entry will be and most certainly is what the bird I have seen today is!

If you have kept with me on this journey you will know there is a bird that I have been quite embarrassed not to have seen all year. It was becoming ridiculous to have to admit that I hadn’t and I was beginning to fear that I might not get it al all. The fear is over, the bird has been seen and here he is!

img_2246-crop

A Little owl has become the 256th bird of the year! Considering we have had them in the garden in the past it is ridiculous to have taken this long but never mind, he was all the more welcome for being a late arrival!

This morning I popped out with Peter to Dereham as he had a few things to get and I wanted to go to the bead shop. Well when we arrived the bead shop was gone so that was the end of my necklace making plans!

It was really good to have the chance to chat to Peter about a decision I need to make and to get a fresh perspective. So in spite of no beads I knew the morning was time well spent (to be honest time spent with family is never time wasted) but I didn’t know that he would spot me a tick on the journey home.

Up until today the nearest I had got to a Little owl was this fella!

img_2156-crop

A present from a dear friend given out of sympathy for my lack of Owl spotting skills, thank you Sheila!!!

Had I not been with Peter I wouldn’t have seen it today, he really does have brilliant eyes and can see birds I would never notice. It was on a fence post, back form the road and really not obvious to most, but to an ace spotter, no problem! The next problem though was that Ian wasn’t with us, oh no should I brake my own rule and count it or not? A quick phone call and he was on the way, bringing my camera with him.

“Please don’t fly off, please don’t fly off, please don’t fly off” and it didn’t. Well not before Ian arrived and saw it, passed me my camera and I got a quick shot. It did however fly soon afterwards hence just the one picture but I really don’t mind, we both saw it and that is what counts.

So a short sweet bird and I feel I have been saved any humiliation on December 31st when I see my year end list.

3 thoughts on “Short and sweet!

  1. Absence makes the heart grow stronger. Fabulously exciting and especially so because it eluded you for so many months. Well done. Well done to Peter too!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

