More cheese Gromit?

We are having an unscheduelled few days away and we are not even chasing birds! The alarm went off at 5.30 am and we wasted no time in getting ready and on the road once again to Yorkshire. Our destination was, as the title may have given you a clue, Wensleydale in North Yorkshire and a place we have never visted before. We have joined Janice and Chris, staying in an appartment under the one they are in so I hope they arent too noisy!!!

Our early start paid off as we arrived in time for coffee. Before long we were all out for a drive getting dome super views of the area of Wensledale and it it beautiful. We were once again blessed with lovely weather and although it got rather chilly it really didn’t feel like November.

I didn’t see it at the time but I now notice a bird sitting on the wall on the bottom right picture, looks like a Robin to me!

We went to the Creamery for lunch and to taste a variety of local cheeses, mostly rather tastey! A nice piece of Wensleydale with Mango and ginger is now sitting in the fridge and if I wasn’t going out for a meal soon I could happily munch some!

img_1445

From what I read Wallace and Gromit have revitalised the Wensleydale cheese business, I must say it is hard to think of the cheese without thinking of Wallace!

More beautiful views and not many birds but plenty of sheep (this one a Swaledale) and rabbits!

We stopped at some gift/craft shops before arriving at Reeth were I spottted this shadow of an exceeding long legged person!!!

img_1411A walk around the village where they were getting ready for a bonfire in the village centre.

img_1426-reeth-bonfireI imagine this to be a typical Yorkshire village and it is certainly in a beutiful setting. The sparrow seemed to agree!

We saw several Red grouse as they flew accross the road and out of sight, excellent!

On the drive home  we saw the sun disappear behind the hills, changing the sky quite dramatically. I only wish I could have captured the colours better but hopefully you will get some idea from these.

I am not sure why but I couldn’t get anyone to pose under this signpost!

img_1435

Well we are off shortly for a meal in one of the three local pubs and I am really looking forward to the next couple of days. Not expecting much in the bird department but I am expecting to have fun!

 

2 thoughts on “More cheese Gromit?

Leave a Reply

