Two Gentlemen of East Dereham!

After the excitement of our Yorkshire/Lincolnshire trip it was time to calm down!

Monday was due to be bright and sunny and there had been a few things reported up on the coast over the weekend that we still need. So with the washing done over night there was just time to hang it out quickly before we were heading for Cley. A Cattle egret had been reported first thing and although there were some in Norfolk early in the year we didn’t connect with any of them. Sadly there was no word or sight of it at Cley although it had been seen briefly just along the coast.

cley-2

Nothing very exciting to see there but at least the cows have moved on!

cleyWe had looked in Wells wood last week for an Olive-backed pipit (OBP) and warblers but no luck. The OBP was still being reported so we spent the morning looking but again no luck! There were plenty of people there searching but only one person saw it whilst we were there. See it doesn’t always go our way but it is still fun! The woods are just behind the beach so I had to take a quick peek!

wells

There was plenty of fungi but very little bird life there at all, we did see several Goldcrests though.

Time to make the decision of where to go to eat our late lunch which we had brought with us. We had a few ideas but decided to go to Blakeney as that was one of the places that the Cattle egret had been spotted earlier. So a quick lunch then out for a walk not expecting a great deal but it was a beautiful day so for sure the walk would be enjoyable.

As I walked along the sea wall I was checking out all the egrets that I could see, no luck all Little ones. But then what were the chaps ahead of me studying in a field? As I approached and asked, hooray, it was the Cattle egret.

Here comes the blog title; the two fellas that were there asked if I would like to see through one of their scopes. Well of course I would but I was too short to reach ! No hesitation, they adjusted the height and I was very soon looking at the Cattle egret. Within moments it took to flight and was away, who knows how far it went? Not me! In conversation I learnt that the gentlemen came from East Dereham and if anyone knows them, please pass on my thanks!

No photo of the bird I’m afraid but this is where it was, living up to it’s name, in with the cows.  blakenyTime to return home but very pleased to have got a year tick especially as it brings our bird tally to 250! I am, too say the least happy with that and don’t forget, the years hasn’t ended yet!

At a time when the birds are picking up again the moths are slowing down, in fact the other night we got none at all, that doesn’t happen often!

Here are a couple of recent sightings though. A November moth made a slightly early appearance, and this Juniper carpet was a new one to us!

Yellow line quakers seem to come in two varieties, one with spots and one without!

The bug is a Dock bug, it was a tad camera shy, every time I tried to take a head on shot it turned tale and scarpered!

Today has been mostly wet so I have been busy sorting some pictures, what tomorrow will bring I know not, but when I do you can be assured I will be telling you!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Two Gentlemen of East Dereham!

Leave a Reply

