An unexpected PJ tick and more!

It turned out to be a rather wet and dreary weekend so we were pretty much stop at homes. Ian took advantage of the occasional dry spells to mow the lawns; that reads far more impressive than the reality!

We set the moth trap and got a reasonable number but not high and nothing new, not even for the year. It seems to be a long while since we had one new for the garden but maybe that is more about my memory than the moths.

Any way back to my tick. I love a lazy bath, preferably earlyish so there is plenty of evening left to spend in my PJs. Ian was watching football on Tv so off I went to listen to the radio, relax and return, complete with PJs.

I work on the assumption that no one is spying on me (any way I am decently covered you understand) so out I go in my PJs to check if any interesting moths have flown in. First trip out at about 9pm nothing exciting to report. Nearing 10.30 and I thought I would pop out again so I opened on of the French Windows to be greeted by this!IMG_9126 toad

I instantly closed the door, called Ian and reached for a camera before opening for another look. Eight months with no frog or toad then both within the week and I didn’t even have to leave the house for the toad. It was sat wedged right against the door frame and didn’t move. I popped outside and took a couple more pictures, went to look at the trap (nothing to report there) and he was still sitting there. An hour later and still he sat but this morning he was gone, good job really.IMG_9122 Toad

I wonder if he lives in our garden? Maybe he will be back again tonight or maybe we will never see him again, who knows? Our shameful amphibian/reptile list has doubled for the year this week. Now I am hoping for the odd snake or lizard to appear!

Well as usually happens day followed night and we decided to go to West Acre to see what we could find, hoping the Kingfisher might make an appearance and it did! It didn’t come in as close as before so no improvement on picture but it is always a treat to see one.

We were also entertained by dragonflies and hirundines, both dipping into the water and both so fast catching them with the camera proved rather tricky for me! There were Swallows, House martins and some Sand martins too, they seem to appear in a very large group, feed and disappear just as suddenly!

When we first arrived at the hides the dragonflies were very active but as it clouded over they were less evident. I only saw one land, all the rest were busy in flight.

We got a message that sent us chasing up to the coast, a Pectoral sandpiper was at Salthouse so we were off. Now it is true to say that when I think of Salthouse I think of the long road down to the sea with Little Eye off to the West and Gramborough Hill off to the East. The message said it was on a pool West at Salthouse, at least that was how we read it. So off we trecked through the stones to Little Eye but not only was there no bird there were no birders either!

On checkng the message we began to wonder if we were in the wrong place, is that road known as the Iron road? NO! Back we went, hoped into the car and off to find the correct place and now I know why it is known as The Iron road I may just remember it, the track has loads of iron in it, simple really!!! IMG_9148 Iron road

A short walk and we were with others watching a Pectoral Sandpiper, hooray, bird number 243. It was rather distant but we got good clear views through binoculars and scope. There was also a Green sandpiper, Snipe and other bits and bobs. I’m not sure what that is lurking in the vegitation with the green sand.

 

As we were heading back ot the car we heard someone call that there were two Hobbys, they flew overhead then off but were a nice addition to our trip.

Almost time to head home but first a detour for a cuppa at a private tea shop nearby that never fails to please!

3 thoughts on “An unexpected PJ tick and more!

Leave a Reply

