At last…I’ve seen a frog!

Well it took eight months and a day before I did but at last I have seen a frog or I should say four frogs!

It was on Thursday the first day of September, yes I had gone eight months and not seen a single frog or toad! The weather looked promising so a trip to the arboretum seemed a good idea, off we went and a little later we met up with Peter and the children.

We hadn’t been walking long when sharp-eyed Peter spotted a tiny little frog, a common frog,  walking in the grass. IMG_8907 Alice frog

Time for a picture then off he hopped again, but back to frogs later! We had a good walk around, Daniel made a quick stop to adjust his socks!IMG_8936 Daniel

By now the sun was shining and the insects were coming to life, first we watched the damsel and dragonflies. The arial displays they put on were brilliant but you will need to take my word for it as they are much to fast for me to photograph in action.

IMG_8975 Dragonfly

Bees of varying shades and sizes were busy along with hoverflies.

But wierdest of all were a couple of flies that we saw. The first one looked like a bee as it flew towards me but when it landed I could see my error. I managed two quick snaps and it was gone. It was in looking to find it again that we found the second strange fly, it is quite amazing what is out there if we look!  Thanks to Peter for identifying them later on, The first is Tachina grossa or I like to call it, Bee-faced-fly! The second is Nowickia ferox, sorry no pet name for that one.

We had brought lunch with us so it was time to find a picnic table, seems the Harlequin ladybirds had found them first! Two different looking Harlequins and the third picture is a Harlequin ladybird nymph.

While eating lunch Matilda found this little fly, pretty sure it is a  Yellow-legged Centurion- Sargus flavipes

IMG_8945 fly

I must admit that I am not usually drawn to flies of any kind but this year I make an exception, but this fella I would be pleased to see on any walk. A Common-green grasshopper, looks like something from prehistoric times don’t you think?

It was nearing time to go back home but a visit to ‘the face tree’ is always a must.

A bonus was waiting by the tree, more frogs! Not tree frogs (now that would have been amazing!) but they were keen to climb.IMG_9009 Frog

So that was Thursday, Friday we stayed home but we did some bug hunting in the garden. We found several little critters including this little green spider (Nigma walckenaeri).IMG_9080 Nigma walckenaeri

Also Peter shared a moth from his catch, a new one for all of us, Webb’s wainscot. IMG_9036 fenn's wainscott

So September has got off to a fine start and the weather forecast looks good for next week so hopefully some good trips out ahead…watch this space. Who knows we might even see a toad!!!

 

2 thoughts on “At last…I’ve seen a frog!

  1. Well done on the frog front! Insects must be extremely challenging to identify and I admire you even trying. It’s great that Peter Shares your interests and the children must be learning loads! Fun and educational, what a blessing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

