Meeting the king!

We have had a lovely weekend with Mim and Terry some old friends visiting, catching up and of course putting the world right!

Summer has now arrived but it would seem that the weather doesn’t realise it yet so we are having to take advantage of any breaks in the wet. This morning we thought we would stay local and see if I could get a few photos. I was pleased we did as I have got my first pictures this year of the king, no not Elvis but a Kingfisher!IMG_3164

What a beautiful bird he is, flying by flashing his stunning colours. I am pleased to get the pictures that I did but am aware that a better photographer would have got the action shots that I failed to get! Never mind it gives me a reason to return and try for better!

Considering how brightly he is coloured it is amazing how he can hide, in a tree or flying past, one minute I could see him and the next he was lost.

He would perch then suddenly swoop into the water and find a meal, possibly for young ones as we didn’t see him eat anything himself. He seems to be a good dad as it was only the male that we saw fishing. Maybe they follow the old traditional roles, him the provider out getting the meals and her at home looking after the babies!

The water was alive with small blue damselflies, at first glance they looked like gnats but on closer inspection it became clear. At least hundreds were over the water, constantly on the move. There were also a few of my favourites, banded demoiselles and we saw a couple as we walked later. I have only recently discovered them and I have really fallen for them big time!

We didn’t see anything else very exciting  but here are a few that we did see, a cinnabar moth, a speckled wood butterfly, busy bees, a seven spot ladybird, a Mistle thrush and of course some poppies. That wasnt  acomplaint as any day that provides Kingfishers is a special day for me.

After a rather late lunch I thought I would go and do some jobs in our garden. I should tell you that fourteen years ago it was a patch of earth but it has developed rather nicely over the years until…we took a year out and now it is beginning to resemble a jungle! When we got home from Scotland I was pootling about in the garden, dead heading roses etc when I thought I would see if the budleia was in flower yet, shock horror I couldnt even see the plant! Well I can now report the plant is found and free to breathe and hopefully flower again attracting the butterflies…I hope!

I have noticed though that when I work in the garden something strange happens to time, it slows down. I could swear I worked for about three hours but when I came back in only one hour had passed 😉 oh well at least I got a few bits done.

 

One thought on “Meeting the king!

Leave a Reply

