Just like home?!

Today has been a scorcher! Too hot to be too strenuous but lovely for a walk around an open garden at Torosay Castle, not far from where we are staying. Not sure how many castles you can stand in and look down on a different castle but you certainly can at Torosay.IMG_5216Walking around the gardens made me slightly homesick as they are so similar to our gardens!!! Oh well while I am away I can pretend can’t I? The colours are beautiful as are the scents as you pass different plants.

It was too much to resist trying to recreate some of the statues, even Sprocket joined in. Although he did look rather quizzical! No one tried to copy the last one but I include her just because I wanted to.

The walks around were lovely, sometimes in the sun then among the trees in the shade again, lovely. I hope Ian has picked u a few tips fro our return home! There were ponds and streams too.

We took time to stop and smell the flowers.IMG_5282The views out from the garden are pretty impressive as is the house  if the outside is anything to go by.

Time to pause for a photo stop then on again.

I am sure that if you have ever seen my house you will understand how this trip out today has made me a little homesick as our garden is so similar!!! Well a girl can dream can’t she?

It was reassuring to see that even a beautifully kept castle garden was in need of a few jobs doing. I wonder how long this bench and gate have been waiting for tomorrow to come when they might reach the top of the ‘to do’ list!

We popped into Craignure for provisions and a much appreciated ice cream. A couple of quick views, of and from the pier.

We were all happy to stay in for a while to cool off, especially Sprocket I imagine, with his built in fur coat! One thing we didn’t know when we booked the house was that just a few doors down from us they hired out kayaks and that rather appealed to Roo and Stu. Arrangements were made and they were off on the loch.

We stayed in watching them, when they were in view, and of course still watching out for bird life. When I thought they would soon be back I stood outside the house, camera at the ready. I was intrigued by a bird calling and flying back and forth and soon decided it was a sandpiper. I had hoped it might be a different type but no it was a common one, very nice all the same!

 

They returned having enjoyed themselves and certainly nit ruling out a repeat performance. I must admit it looked lovely out there in the middle of the loch, if only they hired out boats they took a little less energy I might be tempted myself!IMG_2849 roo and stu

IMG_2850 roo and stu

It.10.15 and the sun has just set but it is still very light in fact I am not long returned from a stroll to get a picture of our house from across the water to get the reflection. Back a few minutes and a Hen harrier has just flown over as it did last night.

I can officially state, being retired is pretty good!!!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Just like home?!

  1. The water was so still it was like a mirror. You didn’t have to look up to see a bird flying over just watch the water for its reflection.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

